Fire & Ice

Veronique Vaka: Lendh (2018)
María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir: Oceans (2018)
Páll Ragnar Pálsson: Nadryw (2021/22), UA (Auftragswerk des hr)
Daníel Bjarnason: Inferno – Concert for Solo-Percussion and Orchestra (2021)

hr-Sinfonieorchester, Martin Grubinger (Schlagzeug),
Daníel Bjarnason (Dirigent)

Starting at 17.00
Harrison Birtwistle: Earth Dances – Eine begehbare Klang- und Lichtinstallation (2021–23)

Entrance Times: 17.00, 18.00 und 20.30 (limited capacity, reservation required)

Norbert Ommer (Klangregie), Klaus Grünberg (Licht und Raum)

hr-Sendesaal Frankfurt

The island in the Northern Atlantic is home not only to active volcanos, ancient glaciers and one of the oldest parliaments in the world, but also to a completely independent music scene, showcased this evening under the baton of Daníel Bjarnason, one of Iceland’s leading musical voices. The orchestral work ›Lendh‹ by the Canadian-Icelandic composer Veronique Vaka stands alongside ›Oceans‹ by María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir, the composer and violinist of the internationally renowned band Amiina. A special commission for cresc... is a new work for the Frankfurt Radio Symphony by Páll Ragnar Pálsson, the Icelandic composer influenced by rock and the avant-garde aesthetics of continental Europe. The programme also features a new Percussion Concerto by Daníel Bjarnason, performed by the multi-percussionist Martin Grubinger. At the Hessian Radio’s TV studio, the audience can experience the walk-in sound and light installation ›Earth Dances‹.

cresc... is funded by Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain.


30,- € | reduced 16,- €

Available within 3er-Wahlabo with 25% discount.

Tickets for the concert Fire & Ice are also valid for the sound and light installation. Unfortunately, all time slots for the sound and light installation are already reserved. However, due to cancellations spaces may open up. Please ask our staff on the evening if capacities have opened up. Waiting times may apply.