cresc...ME WE

CRESC...2O22

During a conversation between the boxer and human rights activist Muhammad Ali and a group of Harvard students in 1975, a student suddenly called out: »Give us a poem!« (Not a coincidence, as Ali was famous for his spontaneous and pointedly political poetry even then.) Never batting an eyelash, Muhammad Ali answered: »ME WE«. One of the shortest poems ever had been born: four letters packing a supreme semantic punch.


For the 2022 edition of the festival cresc..., Ensemble Modern, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, the hr Bigband, the IEMA Ensemble, the Schallfeld Ensemble and freitagsküche jointly devote themselves to the highly topical socio-political thematic field opened up by ME WE.


In strongly polarized western societies, in which the differences between individuals (ME) are increasingly felt to be threatening and more and more people retreat to small »bubbles«, encounters transforming individuals into groups or even communities (WE) are of decisive importance. The possibility of stepping out of one’s »bubble«, of creating a WE out of MEs, feeds the arts, and that is the subject of cresc... 2022.

X

cresc...ME WE

CRESC...2O22

Während eines Gesprächs zwischen dem Boxer und Menschenrechtsaktivisten Muhammad Ali und einer Gruppe von Harvard-Studenten im Jahr 1975 rief ein Student plötzlich: »Give us a poem!« (Kein Zufall, denn Ali war bereits damals berühmt für seine spontane und pointierte politische Dichtkunst). Und keinen ganzen Wimpernschlag später antwortete Muhammad Ali: »ME WE«. Eines der kürzesten Gedichte war geboren: vier Buchstaben mit einer überragenden semantischen Schlagkraft.


In der Festivalausgabe cresc... 2022 widmen sich das Ensemble Modern, das hr-Sinfonieorchester, die hr-Bigband, das IEMA-Ensemble, das Schallfeld Ensemble sowie die freitagsküche gemeinsam dem gesellschaftspolitisch brandaktuellen Themenfeld des ME WE.


In stark polarisierten westlichen Gesellschaften, in denen die Unterschiedlichkeit des Individuums (ME) von vielen zunehmend als bedrohlich wahrgenommen wird und sich immer mehr Menschen in kleine »bubbles« zurückziehen, gewinnen Begegnungen, die aus dem individuellen Einzelnen ein Gemeinsames, oder gar eine Gemeinschaft bilden (WE), entscheidende Bedeutung. Die Möglichkeit aus der »bubble« herauszutreten, aus dem ME ein WE zu kreieren, daraus speisen sich die Künste und das nimmt cresc... 2022 zum Thema.

X