cresc...HUMAN__MACHINE

CRESC...2O2O

LIVE-ELEKTRONIK
BALLET MÉCANIQUE
TURNTABLES
HEAVY METAL
DANCEFLOOR


Social networks know us better than we ourselves do. Intelligent chess algorithms outplay any grandmaster after a brief training period. Genome editing allows us to modify the human genotype. The age of digital machines increasingly questions our concept of what it means to be human.


Under the title HUMAN__MACHINE, the 2020 cresc... Biennial for Current Music Frankfurt Rhine Main spends two weekends from Februar 28 to March 7 exploring the fascination exerted by the relationship between humans and technology upon a great variety of current music. Contemporary music meets heavy metal, noise, turntablism and live electronics. The International Composition Seminar presents world premieres of works by young composers examining the field of tension between man and machine. Highly divergent aesthetic worlds meet.


Apart from the presenters of the festival, Ensemble Modern and the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, the line-up includes the British composer and turntablist Shiva Feshareki, the Norwegian master of live electronics Helge Sten aka Deathprod, the British electronics producer Matthew Herbert, the Austrian composer Bernhard Gander, the Canadian heavy metal drummer Flo Mounier, the conductor and composer Enno Poppe, the ensemble mosaik and the hr Bigband.


Performance venues include the Jahrhunderthalle, the legendary rock club Batschkapp, the Hessian radio and Frankfurt LAB.

X

cresc...HUMAN__MACHINE

CRESC...2O2O

LIVE-ELEKTRONIK
BALLET MÉCANIQUE
TURNTABLES
HEAVY METAL
DANCEFLOOR


Soziale Netzwerke kennen uns besser als wir uns selbst. Intelligente Schach-Algorithmen übertreffen nach kurzem Training jeden Großmeister. Genom-Editierungsverfahren erlauben Eingriffe ins menschliche Erbgut. Das digitale Maschinenzeitalter stellt unser Menschenbild zunehmend infrage.


Unter dem Titel HUMAN__MACHINE spürt die cresc... Biennale für aktuelle Musik Frankfurt Rhein Main 2020 an zwei Wochenenden vom 28. Februar bis 7. März der Faszination nach, die das Verhältnis von Mensch und Technologie auf eine Vielfalt von Spielarten aktueller Musik ausübt. Zeitgenössische Musik trifft auf Heavy Metal, Noise, Turntablism und Live-Elektronik. Das Internationale Kompositionsseminar befasst sich in Uraufführungen junger Komponist*innen mit dem Spannungsfeld zwischen Mensch und Maschine. Begegnungen unterschiedlichster ästhetischer Welten werden eröffnet.


Mit dabei sind neben den Trägern des Festivals Ensemble Modern und hr-Sinfonieorchester u.a. die britische Komponistin und Turntablistin Shiva Feshareki, der norwegische Live-Elektroniker Helge Sten aka Deathprod, der britische Elektronik-Produzent Matthew Herbert, der österreichische Komponist Bernhard Gander, der kanadische Heavy-Metal-Drummer Flo Mounier, der Dirigent und Komponist Enno Poppe und das ensemble mosaik sowie die hr-Bigband.


Veranstaltungsorte sind u.a. die Jahrhunderthalle, der legendäre Rockclub Batschkapp, der Hessische Rundfunk und das Frankfurt LAB.

X